The Winter Dew Tour today announced the world’s top snowboard athletes that will compete for the coveted Dew Cup and a share of the $1.5 million prize purse offered at the end of the three-stop series, which will kick off December 18 in Breckenridge, Colorado.

The athlete roster reads like the who’s who of professional snowboarding, highlighted by multiple X Games and Olympic medalists including Shaun White, Hannah Teter, Andreas Wiig, Travis Rice and Gretchen Bleiler.

"I feel like the Dew Tour is gonna be huge and I'm really looking forward to riding on the entire series this year," said Teter. "The roster of athletes that will be competing on the Winter Dew Tour is sick. It'll be a fun battle to see who comes away with Dew Cup at the end of the season."

White, who’s competed in skateboard vert on the Summer Dew Tour, will be the first Summer crossover athlete. White was the Dew Tour season points leader for skateboard vert in 2007, and was awarded the coveted Dew Cup for his efforts. After successful Summer season’s, White will compete in the superpipe discipline on the Winter Dew Tour. The 22-year-old from Carlsbad, Calif. has been a force to be reckoned with in competitive snowboarding since the tender age of 14.

“This is shaping up to be as impressive of an athlete field as anyone could hope for in a winter event; the Winter Dew Tour competition is bound to be a fight to the bitter end," said Wade Martin, AST president. “With more than 28 hours of original programming on NBC, MTV, MTV2 and USA, there will be action-packed content for the crowds onsite in addition to the fans at home tuning in to the broadcast."

The roster of snowboard athletes includes the following notables:

Snowboard Superpipe · Shaun White · Mason Aguirre · Trevor Jacob · Hannah Teter · Gretchen Bleiler · Kelly Clark

Snowboard Slopestyle · Travis Rice · Andreas Wiig · Danny Kass · Kevin Pearce · Jamie Anderson · Hana Beaman · Torah Bright

The complete list of Winter Dew Tour competitors will be released on Monday, Nov. 24.

Similar to the Dew Tour’s summer competition structure, the Winter Dew Tour will be based on a cumulative points system as the top snow athletes battle it out for a piece of the $1.5 million prize purse and the chance to take home the Dew Cup at the conclusion of the season in February.

2008/09 Winter Dew Tour schedule

Stop 1: Dec. 18-21, 2008 - Breckenridge, Colo. (Breckenridge Ski Resort) Stop 2: Jan. 8-11, 2009 West Dover, Vt. (Mount Snow Resort) Stop 3: Feb. 19-22, 2009 Lake Tahoe, Calif. (Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort)