Winners of the FIAT Freestyle Team Rock the Spot - Onboard Magazine

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Winners of the FIAT Freestyle Team Rock the Spot

When: Sat 19th of January 2008

Where: Bardonecchia, Italy

Markus Malin

The second edition of the most important halfpipe event in Italy, created and organised by the FIAT Freestyle Team, has drawn to a close.
As expected, the event was a huge success: more than 10,000 people attended the mega-concert and the electrifying snowboard contest, which featured riders like Markku Koski, Freddy Austbo, Peetu Piiroinen, Markus Keller and Gary Zebrowski, and went wild to “Juliette & The Licks”.

Juliette & The Licks

Third place went to the Swiss rider, Youri Podladtchikov, second place to the Finnish rider, Markus Malin, but the rider who totally dominated Bardonecchia’s Olympic halfpipe was Peetu Piiroinen, the Finnish athlete who dazzled everyone with his technique and precision riding.

Peetu Piiroinen

The four judges, Giacomo Kratter, Tato Chiala, Alvaro Dal Farra and Enrico Predeval, had the tremendously tough task of marking extremely high standards of riding and an incredible variety of tricks.

The special “Highest Air” prize was won by our very own “Munni”, Stefano Munari, the young Italian rider who was allowed a wildcard to take part in the contest; whilst the New-Zealander James Hamilton earned himself the prize for “Best Trick” with a cab 1080 nose grab.

And finally, “Rocker of the Spot” went to the band Dufresne as they definitely rocked everyone at this spot with their unique brand of energy.


1. Peetu Piiroinen
2. Markus Malin
3. Youri Podladtchikov
4. Markku Koski
5. Janne Korpi
6. Frederik Austbo
7. Markus Keller
8. Stefano Munari
9. Manuel Pietropoli
10. Ben Stewart
11. Roger Kleivdal
12. Gary Zebrowski
13. Luke Wynen
14. Sergio Berger
15. James Hamilton
16. Olivier Gittler
17. Per Iver Grimsrud
18. Daniel Friberg
19. Jean Jacques Roux
20. Kim-Rune Hansen
21. Mikka Hast
22. Jeremy Thompson
23. Isaac Verges
24. Michal Ligocki
25. Thomas Delfino
26. Robin Duran
27. Fabian Fassnacht
28. Marek Sasiadek

For more info check out FIAT Freestyle Team Website


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.