Burton European Open Men's Slopestyle Qualification Results

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Burton European Open Men’s Slopestyle Qualification Results

The Slopestyle course. Not too shabby.
Following hot on the heels of the frankly mind-blowing Juniors’ contest, yesterday was the turn of the men to take on the new BEO slopestyle course. Men’s qualifiers was the call, after tough weather conditions had forced organizers to push the Slopestyle back 24 hours, and riders were greeted with bluebird skies up on Ils Plauns in LAAX, Switzerland. Conditions were perfect. It was business time.

Simon Gruber.
76 men from 11 countries had two runs, with the best run counting. There were 30 spots to be had in the semis (Top 10 riders of each session plus the next 10 best ranked riders overall) and the boys set about it. Swedish rookie Niklas Mattsson was the pick of the bunch and posted the highest score of the day, impressing with his super clean style. His best run included a frontside Bluntside 270 out on the rail, followed by a Corked frontside 540 and a Cab Underflip 540 on the Step Up Step Down Combo, backside 900 Mute and Cab 900 Double Cork on the big kickers, ending with a boardslide and backside lipslide on the MINI Creative Use of Space Obstacle.

Mathias Weissenbacher.

Men’s Slopestyle Qualification Results Session I

1. Tor Lundstrom (SWE), Sweet, 85.50
2. Emil Ulsletten (NOR), Nitro, 84.75
3. Nuutti Niemelä (FIN), Smith, 83.82
4. Ville Paumola (FIN), Quiksilver, 81.55
5. Stian Kleivdal (NOR), Billabong, 78.10
6. Ole Christian Hagen (NOR) DC Shoe Co USA, 77.85
7. David Hablützel (SUI), Burton, 69.45
8. Max Buri (SUI), Salomon, 68.73
9. Jan Kralj (SLO), Madness, 67.60
10. Merrick Joyce (USA), Oakley, 66.15
11. Kevin Backstrom (SWE), Nike, 65.68
12. Leandro Eigensatz (SUI), Salomon, 64.82

Men’s Slopestyle Qualification Results Session II

1. Niklas Mattson (SWE), K2, 89.37
2. Jan Scherrer (SUI), Nike, 82.45
3. Simon Gruber (ITA), Smith, 81.35
4. Roman Dlauhy (CZE), Burton, 80.83
5. Tim-Kevin Ravnjak, (SLO), Red Bull, 80.10
6. Christian Kröll (AUT), Voelkl, 76.77
7. Havard Bergheim (NOR), Ride, 72.07
8. Herbert Thaler (AUT), Quiksilver, 72.03
9. Brage Richenberg (NOR), Salomon, 71.48
10. Eric Beauchemin (USA), DC Shoe Co USA, 71.08
11. Clemens Jezler (SUI), DC Shoe Co USA, 69.77
12. Joachim Krogstie (NOR), Analog, 69.72
13. Trym Nordgaard (NOR), Quiksilver, 66.62
14. Ben Kilner (GBR), Oakley, 64.40
15. David Djité (SUI), Forum, 64.08
16. Jonas Boesiger (SUI), Salomon, 62.38
17. Even Solbraa (NOR), Sabotage SB, 62.27
18. Philipp Gruber (AUT), Burton, 61.55

Tim Kevin Ravnjak.
The BEO continues today with Men’s and Women’s Halfpipe Qualification.

If you can’t make it to LAAX make sure to watch the live webcast from Feb. 29th – March 3rd, 2012 on www.redbull.tv.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.