Shaun White and Kelly Clark Win at Dew Tour - Onboard Magazine

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Shaun White and Kelly Clark Win at Dew Tour

Olympic gold medalist Shaun White won the men’s superpipe finals and hometown hero and fellow gold medalist Kelly Clark won the women’s event Sunday in the second stop of the inaugural Winter Dew Tour at Mount Snow Resort in West Dover, Vermont.

Shaun White doing the Dew – all photos: Bo Bridges/Winter Dew Tour
White’s winning run included a backside rodeo 720, a backside 900, back-to-back 1080’s into a 720. He finished with an alley-oop rodeo and scored 96.25. “The first run was really good but I knew I could go a little bigger than I did in that first run,” White said. “It was a weird run. My glove was kind of iced over and we had to add these marks to my board so I’d make sure I grabbed it. I went through that second run there and it just all fell together.” Steve Fisher of Breckenridge, Colo., was second at 92.75 and Kevin Pearce of Norwich, Vt., was third at 90.00. White now holds the lead in season standings in both the superpipe and slopestyle disciplines.

Kelly Clark reported for duty and earned a medal.

In the women’s event, Clark, of West Dover, Vt., executed a frontside air to a backside 520. She continued with a frontside 720, a cab 360 and a frontside 520. She finished with a backside air and earned 90.75 points. “I couldn’t be happier coming home to Mount Snow and doing so well in front of all my friends and family,” Clark said. “I really had a lot of fun tonight and it’s great to come away heading into the third event with a first and a second place.” With this win, Clark secured the lead in overall point standings for superpipe. Hannah Teter, of Belmont, Vt., was second at 88.75 and Ellery Hollingsworth, of Darien, Conn., was third at 83.00.

On Saturday, Norwegian Torstein Horgmo maintained the lead in a close contest against Olympic gold medalist Shaun White in the men’s snowboard slopestyle finals and Jamie Anderson won the women’s event. The 21-year old Horgmo took the lead on his first run and the field was unable to best his score of 92.67. His winning run included technical tricks on the rails and the flat box and a cab 900 on the first jump, to a backside 900 on the second jump. He finished with a switch backside 1260 on the final jump. “This means a lot to me,” Horgmo said. “Winning a contest is fun. I still don’t feel like I beat anybody here today. I’m only trying to beat myself at the contest. I got my win now. I’m super stoked. I don’t think I really realize it yet.” White, of Carlsbad, Calif. was second at 92.33 and Andreas Wiig of Norway was third at 88.00. White remains the overall point leader in the race for the Dew Cup based on this event and his win at the first stop of the Tour in Breckenridge, Colorado.
“This was a full-on course,” White said. “We had rails at the top, a rail in the middle, big jumps at the bottom. It was really fun.”

Jamie Anderson reloaded and shot off the cannon box

In the women’s field, Anderson, of South Lake Tahoe, Calif. made good use of the course with a tail press to a nose press to a pretzel out on the top rails. She landed a switch backside 360 on the first jump to a cab 180 on the box jump. She finished with a frontside 360 to a frontside 520 on the final two jumps to earn 85.67 points. “I was just having a good day and my body felt good,” Anderson said. “I didn’t really do so many frontside fives in practice, I was kind of just doing backside 180’s so I’m stoked on that part.”Canadian Spencer O’Brien was second at 81.50 and Chanelle Sladics, of Newport Beach, Calif., was third at 80.67. O’Brien, who won the previous Winter Dew Tour event, remains the overall point leader heading into the season finale next month in California.

Podium: Wiig, Horgmo and White did the Dew best

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Finals

1. Torstein Horgmo, Norway, 92.67.
2. Shaun White, Carlsbad, Calif., 92.33.
3. Andreas Wiig, Norway, 88.00.
4. Mikkel Bang, Norway, 85.33.
5. Eric Willett, Breckenridge, Colo., 82.67.
6. Scotty Lago, Seabrook, N.H., 79.33.
7. Brandon Reis, Peterborough, N.H., 76.83.
8. Sam Hulbert, Peterborough, N.H., 74.17.
9. Charles Reid, Canada, 72.50.
10. Yale Cousino, Lincoln, Vt., 71.83.

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Points

1. Shaun White, 190.
2. Mikkel Bang, 165.
3. Torstein Horgmo, 160.
4. Andreas Wiig, 155.
5. Sam Hulbert, 125.
6. Charles Reid, 115.
7. Eric Willett, 94.
8. Kevin Pearce, 85.
9. Daniel Ek, 81.
10. Janne Korpi, 80.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Finals

1. Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 85.67.
2. Spencer O’Brien, Canada, 81.50.
3. Chanelle Sladics, Newport Beach, Calif., 80.67.
4. Jenny Jones, Great Britain, 75.50.
5. Megan Ginter, Redmond, Wash., 75.00.
6. Marie-France Roy, Canada, 74.50.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Points

1. Spencer O’Brien, 190.
2. Jamie Anderson, 175.
3. Jenny Jones, 165.
4. Bev Vuilleumier, 140.
5. Megan Ginter, 140.
6. Chanelle Sladics, 135.
7. Marie-France Roy, 115.
8. Kjersti Ostgaard Buaas, 110.
9. Kimberly Fasani, 110.
10. Christina Curry, 90.

Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Finals

1. Shaun White, Carlsbad, Calif., 96.25.
2. Steve Fisher, Breckenridge, Colo., 92.75.
3. Kevin Pearce, Norwich, Vt., 90.00.
4. Danny Davis, Highland, Mich., 89.25.
5. Mason Aguirre, Duluth, Minn., 84.50.
6. Scotty Lago, Seabrook, N.H., 80.00.
7. Matt Ladley, Steamboat Springs, Colo., 71.00.
8. Charles Reid, Canada., 59.50.
9. Dylan Bidez, Minturn, Colo., 49.00.
10. Elijah Teter, Belmont, Vt., 46.75.

Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Points

1. Shaun White, 190.
2. Danny Davis, 175.
3. Scotty Lago, 145.
4. Steve Fisher, 125.
5. Elijah Teter, 120.
6. Kevin Pearce, 102.
7. Greg Bretz, 100.
8. Mason Aguirre, 81.
9. Charles Reid, 71.
10. Louie Vito, 70.

Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Finals

1. Kelly Clark, West Dover, Vt., 90.75.
2. Hannah Teter, Belmont, Vt., 88.75.
3. Ellery Hollingsworth, Darien, Conn., 83.00.
4. Kjersti Ostgaard Buaas, Norway, 68.75.
5. Charmaine Ironside, Canada, 54.75.
6. Kaitlyn Farrington, Sun Valley, Idaho, 32.75.

Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Points
1. Kelly Clark, 190.
2. Hannah Teter, 165.
3. Kjersti Ostgaard Buaas, 140.
4. Elena Hight, 135.
5. Charmaine Ironside, 115.
6. Ellery Hollingsworth, 110.
7. Kaitlyn Farrington, 105.
8. Gretchen Bleiler, 100.
9. Molly Aguirre, 100.
10. Elizabeth Beerman, 95.

Upcoming event:

Stop 3 Feb. 19-22, 2009 Lake Tahoe, Calif.—Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.