Piiroinen wins Oakley Arctic Challenge and TTR Title - Onboard Magazine

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Piiroinen wins Oakley Arctic Challenge and TTR Title

When: 5.-7.3.2010

Where: Oslo, Norway

A familiar sight this season... Photo: Glen Bisset Eriksen/TAC

Peetu Piiroinen won TTR 6-Star event of the Oakley Arctic Challenge 2010, after knocking Norwegian Torstein Horgmo out of the Viking King chair in Wyllerløypa/Norway on Sunday.

In a gripping slopestyle final, the 22-year-old Fin once again showed his mastery on the board and nailed a third and final run that earned him victory in the contest as well as the 2010 Swatch TTR Tour title. His winning run consistedt of a 360 rail combo and a Boardslide to Cab 450 over the upper obstacles, a massive Backside 10 Late Cork and a Backside Rodeo 7 over the kickers and the biggest air of the day, a Frontside Crail, over the hip. Nobody else was able to beat his score of 90.60 points for this run.

Earlier in the finals, a lot of riders struggled with the flat light and could not land their tricks from the qualifications and semi finals. It was Belgian Seppe Smits, who eventually kicked of the trick brouhaha with a technical run, including a good Back 12. Canadian young gun Mark McMorris followed with the first Double Cork of the day, garnished with a Double Backside Rodeo. And if it seemed throughout the first two (of three) runs that most big names like Mikkel Bang, Torstein Horgmo, and Peetu Piiroinen would not get their runs dialled, they all unleashed some madness in their final run. Torstein in particular impressed spectators and judges with his run, consisting of a Switch Backside 12, a Front 7 and a massive Back 7 over the three jumps. His 88.90 secured him the second place ahead of fellow Norwegian Mikkel Bang, who once again showcased his trademark laidback style.

So what does this mean for TTR world ranking leader Peetu? The win secured him 1000 Swatch TTR Ranking points and an unassailable lead over his competitors on the ranking list. He will be crowned at the Burton US Open in two weeks time to become the first snowboarder ever winning two consecutive Swatch TTR Tour Champion titles. Two top things off he collects a large chunk of the US$ 100,000 prize money for the event and US$ 50,000 for the TTR title. Ker-ching!

Complete Results

1 30 Peetu Piiroinen FIN
2 22 Torstein Horgmo NOR
3 23 Mikkel Bang NOR
4 9 Seppe Smits BEL
5 33 Mark McMorris CAN
6 15 Sage Kotsenburg USA
7 12 Roope Tonteri FIN
8 8 Tore Holvik NOR
9 14 Eric Willett USA
10 7 Ville Uotila FIN
11 11 Marko Grilc SLO
12 34 Mats Hofgaard NOR
13 17 Matti Kinnunen FIN
14 13 Gjermund Braaten NOR
15 25 Ulrik Badertscher NOR
16 3 Sam Hulbert USA
17 19 Chas Guldemond USA
18 28 Arthur Longo FRA
19 27 Stale Sandbech NOR
20 1 Brandon Reis USA
21 35 Kim Rune Hansen NOR
22 4 Miikka Hast FIN
23 18 Christian Haller SUI
24 6 Janne Korpi FIN
25 16 Sondre Tiller NOR
26 2 Markus Malin FIN
27 32 Eero Ettala FIN
28 21 Aleksander Ostreng NOR
29 24 Heikki Sorsa FIN
30 29 Antti Autti FIN
31 5 Atsushi Ishikawa JPN
32 10 Janne Lipsanen FIN


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.