Nokia Air & Style 07 - Onboard Magazine

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Nokia Air & Style 07

The Grand Slam in Snowboarding

The world’s best snowboarders compete on precious points for the Swatch TTR World Championship at the Nokia Air & Style 07

On December 01st the entire snowboard world-elite competes for the ‘Ring of Glory’ and important points for the TTR world ranking at the Nokia Air & Style 07 in Munich. Ranked as ‘Six-Star-Event’ of the highest category the Nokia Air & Style takes in a special position at the schedule of the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour.

At the Nokia Air & Style 07 once again the snowboard world elite lines up. The 16 launch sites are in great demand among the riders. However, the strong field of starters at the Nokia Air & Style 07 is accomplished according to strict criteria: only the best eight riders of the previous year, the first four riders of the TTR world ranking, three wildcard owners and the winner of last year’s Rookie Challenge are invited. On December 1st these 16 selected riders compete against each other in a k.o. mode, until only four riders are left. Those final four contest the superfinal. Four times three jumps and the winner is determined. 

Each rider has three ‘runs’ per round, from which only the best one counts. The jumps are judged by three internationally experienced judges, each awarding 0 to 100 points to every jump, according to objective criteria like difficulty, number of the rotations, width and stylistic performance. Beside the importance for the world ranking – 1.000 points are credited to the winner – the Nokia Air & Style Champion also receives the ‘Ring of Glory ‘, a manually manufactured silver ring.

Witnessed by 5.000 spectators, the Air & Style started as the first ‚In-City Freestyle Straight Jump Snowboard-Contest’ of the world in Innsbruck in 1994. Today the event is the most important winter event for the athletes. The competition has an enormous relevance for the development and acceptance of snowboarding: being one of only six ‚Six-Star-Events’ in the schedule of the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour, the Nokia Air & Style is the highest summit in freestyle snowboarding organised within the TTR.

The TTR World Snowboard Tour, which was founded by snowboard legend Terje Haakonsen in 2002, is firmly established as independent driver’s organisation by now. The TTR is a non-profit, rider-driven snowboard federation that aims to represent the progression of snowboarding and creates a clear rookie-to-pro structure. The tour encloses almost 150 independent snowboard contests worldwide. Events are rated via a 1-through-6 Star system, with points allocated accordingly, a ‘Six-Star-Event’ holding the highest. Therefore, the six ‘Six-Star-Events’ of the tour can be called the grand slam in snowboarding.

Tickets for this unique snowboard contest are available through and Tickets purchased via the Air & Style website can easily be printed out at home by print@home without any further costs for shipping.

Nokia Air & Style 07

Place:   Munich Olympic Stadium

Date:    Saturday, 01st December 2007

Time:    3:30 p.m. – 10:45 p.m.


        Grandstand              €   36,20 (excl. presale fee)
        Arena                   €   43,50 (excl. presale fee)
        VIP                     € 135,00 (excl. presale fee)
        Rockstar-Clubbing       €   10,00 (excl. presale fee)

Snowboard Main Contest

1.      Travis Rice             USA     Quicksilver     Winner Nokia Air & Style 06
2.      Risto Mattila           FIN     Flow            Winner Burton European Open 06
3.      David Benedek           GER     Salomon Winner Nokia Air & Style 02
4.      Hampus Mosesson SWE     Quiksilver      Winner Nokia Air & Style 05
5.      Mathieu Crepel          FRA     Quiksilver      Dual Winner FIS-World Cup 07
6.      Heikki Sorsa            FIN     Burton          Dritter Nissan X-Trail Jam 05 
7.      Kevin Pearce            USA     Burton          Winner Arctic Challenge 06
8.      Torstein Horgmo         NOR     DC              Winner O´Neill Pro Freestyle 06
9.      Eero Ettala             FIN     Nitro           Winner 06
10.     Nicolas Müller          SUI     Burton          Winner Nissan X-Trail Jam 05
11.     Andreas Wiig            NOR     Nitro           Winner Winter X-Games 07 
12.     Chas Guldemond  USA     DC              Winner Australian Open 07
13.     Danny Davis             USA     Burton          “Rookie of the year” 06
14.     Gigi Rüf        AUT             Burton  Participant     Austrian Masters 07
15.     Andy Finch              USA     Palmer          Winner Australian Open 07
16.     Mikkel Bang             NOR     Burton          Winner Rookie Challenge Nokia Air & Style 06

Snowboard Rookie Challenge

1.      Iouri Podladtchikov     RUS     Santa Cruz      Winner Burton European Open 05
2.      Christian Haller                SUI     Burton          Participant US Open 06 & 07
3.      Marco Smolla            GER     Nitro           Participant Nokia Air & Style 06
4.      Peter König             AUT     Forum           Participant Nokia Air & Style 06
5.      Juuso Laivisto          FIN     Ride            Third of the Burton European Open 05
6.      Mason Aguirre           USA     Burton          Leader of the TTR World Tour 07/08
7.      Tim Humphreys           USA     Flow            Second Chevrolet Grand Prix 07
8.      Louie Vito              USA     O-Matic         Second of the TTR World Tour 07/08
9.      Werner Stock            AUT     Salomon Participant Austrian Masters 07
10.     Luke Mitrani            USA     Burton          Participant Olympic Winter Games 04
11.     Elias Elhardt           GER     Rossignol       Winner Billabong World Junior Pro 06   
12.     Arthur Longo            FRA     Nitro           Winner O´Neill Pro Freestyle 07
13.     Manuel Pietropoli       ITA     Burton          Participant European & US Open 07
14.     Daniel Ek               NOR     Forum           Winner Transition Mission 07
15.     Tobias Strauss          GER     Burton          Participant Nokia Air & Style 06
16.     Sergey Lapushkin        RUS     Atomic          Fourth of the Audi Winter Cup 07


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.