Nescafe Champs Set to Rock its 20-Year Anniversary

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Nescafé Champs Set to Rock its 20-Year Anniversary in Leysin

Gian Simmen

The resort of Leysin is preparing to host a major event for the sport and the freestyle scene. From February 8th to 13th, 2011, the NESCAFÉ CHAMPS will celebrate its 20th anniversary in the resort of the Swiss French region. The champions of the CHAMPS will participate in the contest as well as the biggest names and rising stars of today. Amongst the invited riders already confirmed, will be Switzerland’s Jan Scherrer and Finland’s Sami Luthanen who have each just won a TTR event. A plethora of past winners and VIPs from the snowboarding scene will also make the trip especially for the festivities programmed for this 20th edition. Excitement, ambiance and emotions are guaranteed!

In 20 years the NESCAFÉ CHAMPS in Leysin has become a not to be missed contest for the riders of the TTR World Snowboard Tour, but also for the young snowboarders from the local region. Thanks to the competition format that is open to everyone, the CHAMPS offer the possibility to move up the ranks of pro snowboarding. For the 20th anniversary, the CHAMPS will once again be open to anyone who wants to enter the qualifications. On top of that, the Slopestyle course planned for this year offers as much chance to Halfpipe specialists as it does to riders who just like to hit big jumps. It is a question of being able to do it all to stand on the podium of the NESCAFÉ CHAMPS. To top it off, for this 20th anniversary, the contest is open to women and men.

Helen Nadig

A few big names already confirmed

The qualified riders will be able to measure their talent against the invited riders who are part of the world elite. The crowd in Leysin will have the pleasure of seeing past winners perform once again, and whose objective will be to take home the title of this 20th edition. Amongst the men, there will be the young Swiss talent Jan Scherrer who has just finished 3rd at the Halfpipe in Davos. The winner in 2010, Johann Baisamy, who has already secured some solid results this season, will be flying the flag for France. The Nordic riders will also be accounted for with the presence of Risto Mattila, winner of the CHAMPS in 2004. Further Siwss Riders are Gian Simmen and the local Anthony Holland who was given a Wild Card. Pat Burgener will also be among the invited riders. His appearance is much anticipated after his second place in 2010 and 4th place finish in 2008. The young Swiss Frenchman has the talent to take the top spot on the podium.

Amongst the women, will be Swiss riders Ursina Haller, who won the CHAMPS in 2008 and is currently 14th in the TTR rankings, Sina Candrian who is currently 6th on the TTR tour, and young Nadja Purtschert who finished 6th in Davos. Two other riders who are also confirmed on the list of invited riders are Cilka Sadar from Slovenia (4th TTR World Ranking and 2nd in Davos) and one of the revelations of the start of the season, Mirabelle Thovex from France (7th in Davos). The points on offer in Leysin will be key for their TTR world ranking.

You can also watch the Nescafe Champs Live on the event site.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.