[JAAPAN! Photo: Sami Tuoriniemi]

Thick fog was the order of the morning at the Laax Open yesterday and the start of the men's slopestyle semi finals was delayed by a few hours.

The riders still sent it over the jumps into the fog during training, although we never saw them landing anything, they just disappeared.

However, with talk of bluebird up top it wasn't long until the fog burned off. The riders held their nerve and waited it out. Sure enough the fog lifted and the sun came through bright and strong, offering up perfect conditions for slopestyle. In both men's heats plenty of big tricks got stomped clean.

Heat 1 saw Shredbot Darcy Sharpe take the top spot with a first run score of 83.30, while Peetu Piiroinen and Tyler Nicholson posted second run scores of 80.65 and 80.10 to see them safely through to the finals. Max Parrot spun his way to a potential podium with a score of 79.55 and Dario Burch and Finnish powerhouse Roope Tonteri also secured spots in the finals. Big names Stale Sandbech and Jamie Nicholls didn't quite make the cut, although they both were sending it!

In heat 2 Sven Thorgren put down a super clean and stylish run on his second lap through the course to take the top spot from challengers Yuki Kadono and Mark McMorris, who both posted big scores with their first runs. Seb Toots also posted a score in the low 80s to take him through to the finals, while the UK's Billy Morgan and Canada's Michael Ciccarelli scored in the low 70s to take the final two places.

Check out the full results and photos below.



Heat 1

1 Darcy Sharpe (CAN) 83.30

2 Peetu Piiroinen (FIN) 80.65

3 Tyler Nicholson (CAN) 80.10

4 Max Parrot (CAN) 79.55

5 Dario Burch (SUI) 73.00

6 Roope Tonteri (FIN) 69.85

7 Markus Olimstad (NOR) 69.00

8 Tomoki Wakita (JPN) 67.40

9 Jonas Boesiger (SUI) 63.65

10 Joel Staub (SUI) 59.85

11 Jamie Nicholls (GBR) 59.75

12 Stale Sandbech (NOR) 57.35

13 Sebastien Konijnenberg (FRA) 57.20

14 Petter Gron (NOR) 56.60

15 Mons Roisland (NOR) 56.25

16 Nuutti Niemela (FIN) 51.90

17 Ulrik Badertscher (NOR) 51.00

18 Florian Fischer (SUI) 35.60

19 Janne Korpi (FIN) 28.85

20 Yutaro Miyazawa (JPN) 28.80

Heat 2

1 Sven Thorgren (SWE) 89.05

2 Mark McMorris (CAN) 88.90

3 Yuki Kadono (JPN) 88.65

4 Sebastien Toutant (CAN) 83.85

5 Billy Morgan (GBR) 73.95

6 Michael Ciccarelli (CAN) 73.80

7 Seppe Smits (BEL) 68.15

8 Maximilian Preissinger (GER) 62.65

9 Boris Mouton (FRA) 61.05

10 Niklas Mattsson (SWE) 60.60

11 Charles Reid (CAN) 60.00

12 Aleksander Ostreng (NOR) 58.80

13 Mikko Rehnberg (FIN) 53.20

14 Michael Schaerer (SUI) 51.90

15 Torgeir Bergrem (NOR) 51.15

16 Emil Ulsletten (NOR) 41.20

17 Takeru Ootsuka (JPN) 31.40

18 Bendik Gjerdalen (NOR) 24.40

19 Carlos Gerber (SUI) 22.00

20 Marco Grigis (ITA) 18.40

Due to the delayed start women's slopestyle semi finals will take place on Friday 22nd. Tune in to the live stream to watch it all go down.