Air & Style - Countdown started - Onboard Magazine

The latest snowboarding videos, news, photos and snowboarding products from Onboard Snowboarding.



Air & Style – Countdown started

On Saturday, January 31st, 13,000 enthusiastic fans will witness great snowboarding action and top live music acts in the sold out arena of the legendary Bergisel Stadium in Innsbruck-Tirol, Austria.

Be prepared to see Europe’s biggest snowboarding contest this Saturday, as the who is who of snowboarding hit the biggest Quarter Pipe on the planet at the Billabong Air &Style!

24 top snowboarders from all over the world will assure the show by approaching the 12 metres high quarter pipe with speeds up to 90 km/h. Besides the “Ring of Glory” trophy for the winner, the competitiors will try to battle the world record of 9,8 metres(held by Terje Haakonsen).

The riders list around Scabndinavian star snowboarder Antti Autti (FIN), Billabong’s team colleague Risto Mattila (FIN) and snowboarding ledgend and record man Terje Haakonsen (NOR) is almost complete.
Also confirmed are last year’s runner uo Scotty Lago (USA) and his compatriot Jack Mitrani, who secured himself the “Hghest Air” title in 2008 with a giant 8,70 m.

With Peetu Piiroinen (Fin), Risto Mattila, Steve Krijbolder (NED), Arthur Longo (FRA) and Antti Autti, the Billabong Air & Style event will welcome the first 5-ranked top riders of last TTR Quarter Pipe contest, the O’Neill Evolution which went down in January in Davos, Switzerland.

Swedish rock band Mando Diao and the “Electric Superdance Band” Deichkind will fire up the crowd and turn the Bergisel stadium into a heating cauldron.

Riders list

1. Scotty Lago (USA)
2. Peetu Piiroinen (FIN)
3. Antti Autti (FIN)
4. Arthur Longo (FRA)
5. Clin Frei (SUI)
6. Kim Rune Hansen (NOR)
7. Jack Mitrani (USA)
8. Risto Mattila (FIN)
9. Andy Finch (USA)
10. Terje Haakonsen (NOR)
11. Manuel Pietropoli (ITA)
12. Shayne Pospisil (USA)
13. Daisuke Murakami (JAP)
14. Werner Stock (AUT)
15. Olivier Gittler (FRA)
16. Peter König (AUT)
17. Chad Otterstrom (USA)
18. Philipp Strauss (GER)
19. Henning Mathinsen (NOR)
20. Steve Krijbolder (NED)
21. Chad Guldemond (USA)
22. tba
23. tba
24. Dustin Craven (CAN)


15.30 Doors Open
17.00 Rider Presentation, Qualification Group 1
18.05 Rider Presentation, Qualification Group 2
19.00 Deichkind
19.45 Superfinal
21.00 Prizegiving
21.10 Mando Diao
22.00 End

!!!!!!! watch the live webcast here !!!!!!!


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.